The Dirt Work Begins for Our New House

A call came in this morning from Gigi, Hugh Leigh’s wife, that a bull dozer was being unloaded on our property which means that the dirt work was going to start. I hopped in Olive, my souped up golf cart that can quickly be converted to a utility cart, and I went through the short cut to our property to see what was up. As he was just starting to offload the dozer I kept the small talk to a minimum to let him get back to work.

About an hour and a half later I went back to check out the progress. As he was finishing up a break, here are some static shots of the beginning of the project.

IMG_0348 IMG_0349 IMG_0350

Once he finished his break I shot some video but I have discovered I need to upgrade to be able to be able to add video to my posts.  So, if you want to see the video drop me a comment line and I will send to you separately. Naturally, I will need an email address if I don’t already have it.

They will be all done with the dirt work by end of tomorrow! Time is money and they know how to do what they do.

Next will be the slab work, as it very rare to have a basement down here due to the soil drainage issues that cause wet basements.

Then, onwards and upwards as framing comes after the slab has time to cure.

One thought on “The Dirt Work Begins for Our New House

Leave a Reply

